mix. whisk. bake.

if you can’t stand the heat…

…stay in the kitchen!!  Boy, it was hot today wasn’t it?  Shoo, how would I know – I was in the kitchen all day!  Thanks to Bastille Day, I spent most of my work shift making 400 French macarons (which yields 200 when sandwiched together by Italian buttercream) and mini berry tarts.  And I’ll just tell ya – I’m tired.  I’m spent.  Yeah, yeah, I know – all the “real” chefs are scoffing because I’m complaining about a 9 hour work day and didn’t spend my whole 24 hours sweating over a stove.  Well, what can I say?  When a girl’s tired, she’s tired.  And when she’s starting to get carpal tunnel on her wrist from mixing and whisking, it hurts.  And when all her belongings are tinged with sticky sugar, hand her a Wet-Nap.  Sheesh, take it easy on me!

But, my summer internship is going great!  I’m learning how to work quicker and more efficiently in a commercial kitchen and getting a lot of good catering tips from the other chefs in the kitchen.  It’s almost a shame that I don’t experiment more at home.  But, I guess it’s true – if you are cooking or baking all day, the last thing you want to do when you get home is pick up a whisk!  Fortunately, I am still happy and willing to bake for special occasions!  This past weekend I made about 100 chocolate, strawberry and lemon cupcakes with Italian buttercream for my sis’ graduation party…

best.  cupcakes.  ever.

This entry was published on July 14, 2010 at 11:22 pm and is filed under bite size, sweet talk. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “if you can’t stand the heat…

  1. Yeah, they were!! I just got an RSVP from Naomi for our cookie partay! She is booking a flight as we speak!

Leave a Reply

