mix. whisk. bake.

the clouds are forming and the fog is settling…

… it’s almost Autumn in the Bay Area, y’all!  I LOVE IT!  It was so cold today that I busted out my scarf and mosied myself over to the boot section of the shoe department.  This may be the first time in 5 years that I will actually wear a jacket… and not just as a fashion statement!  I’m ready for cold weather!  What could be better?  Oh yes!  Baking in cold weather!  It’s the time of the year that the Kitchen Aid mixer and oven work overtime.  Just imagine it…  the smell of something warm and gooey coming out of the oven ready to be nibbled on as you settle back onto the couch, snuggled in a warm blanket, ready to finish a Nicolas Cage movie marathon… now that is what I call a great day!

It’s been a month since I finished my summer pastry internship.  I was going through withdrawals… I had the urge to bake something, yet I was too tired after long days of learning and poring over union contracts from my new job back in the HR office (yeah, it happened.).  Finally, I had a chance to make a cake for my mom’s 60th birthday, and ever since, the baking bug has come back!  I am hoping that my work days will be shorter and less stressful, and that I can go back to doing some midnight baking.  In the meantime, here are some pictures of some goodies I made towards the end of my internship and for some special occasions… there, that should tide you over!

This entry was published on September 8, 2010 at 9:02 pm and is filed under cakes, plated desserts, sweet talk. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “the clouds are forming and the fog is settling…

  1. Mmmm cake lollipops? That sounds sooo yummy

Leave a Reply

