mix. whisk. bake.

thanksgiving is like the king’s cousin.

I love Thanksgiving.  If you know me, then you know that Christmas is king in my eyes!  I mean, I actually start planning for Christmas on December 26th of the prior year.  But Thanksgiving – if you ever needed a low-key, no-nonsense, take-it-easy holiday, this is it.  I’ve never understood the stress that people have about making the perfect turkey or the hecticness of traveling the entire weekend.  Thanksgiving to me is hanging out with family, feeling full for 24 hours straight, and being thankful to God for the many blessings in my life.  So Thanksgiving – I salute you – with dessert!

This was a cake for a birthday to be celebrated on Thanksgiving.  Thought I would take advantage of the fall flowers and colors.

 

 

Everyone, I’d like to introduce you to a persimmon galette.  I didn’t think that I would have to explain it so much – I just figured I would put it out on the table and everyone would top it with whipped cream or ice cream.  A persimmon – not pronounced “Per Simon” – as my brother-in-law said it – is a fall fruit.  The two primary types are “fuyu” and “hachiya”.  I used the fuyu persimmon for this galette, since it is firm like an apple and I figured would not fall apart if baking it.  A galette is basically a free form pie, using pie dough, rolling it out, and folding the edges over the filling.  Alright, so – I was too lazy to make a REAL pie!  You know my feelings about Thanksgiving – as explained at the beginning of this post.  Okay?

 

But seriously, persimmon galette – you gotta make it while persimmons are still in season.  I highly recommend this recipe for the pie dough.  Martha rocks.

 

 

Remember the “Friends” episode where Rachel makes a trifle, but the pages of the cookbook stuck together so she added beef to her trifle?  Yeah, ever since then, I’ve always wanted to make a trifle.  Of course, this one had pumpkin mousse instead of meat.  “Trifle?  Goooood.”  Joey was the best.

This entry was published on November 26, 2010 at 9:57 pm and is filed under cakes, holidays, pies and tarts. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “thanksgiving is like the king’s cousin.

  1. The persimmon galette was so good. Persimmon is my favorite fall fruit and it was yummy in this recipe, and the crust was excellent!

  2. Thanks, mama! 😀 The link to the crust is above – I really like it too and easy to make – just put everything in your food processor! See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

