mix. whisk. bake.

32 sticks of butter, 20 lbs of flour, and a partridge in a pear tree… PLUS a Giveaway!!!

Well, kids – it’s that time of year again!  The annual holiday baking extravaganza begins!  Every year post-Thanksgiving through December 25th the Kitchen Aid is whirring, the oven is pre-heated and the shelves are stocked with baking supplies:

See?  Stocked.

And every year comes the stress of whether or not all the baking will get done in time:  in time for our Annual Cookie Sweatshop party, in time to get Christmas care packages in the mail, and in time for Christmas day.  I guess I shouldn’t say “stress” since I enjoy every minute of it.  There just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day and days in December.

This year, there is added pressure to bake a certain type of cookie – and it’s all due to a certain holiday baking contest.  I spread the word to all my family and friends to vote for my cookie and everyone came through so that I would be one of the Top 10 winners.  Now everyone is salivating to try these Peppermint Pinwheels.  I’ll be sure to make an extra batch or two… or ten!

Next week I’m hoping to head to the L.A. Times Test Kitchen for their story on the Holiday Bake-off.  The things I do to squeeze in another trip to the Southland!  Pretty neat, huh?  And since I haven’t done a giveaway in a looooooong time, I think it’s about time to spread some holiday cheer!  Just post a comment below this post with YOUR favorite cookie and one random reader will receive a stack of peppermint pinwheels in the mail.  I plan on making a batch this weekend, so you will have until Sunday, December 5th to make a comment.

Happy baking everyone!!

This entry was published on November 29, 2010 at 10:47 pm and is filed under cookies, giveaways, holidays. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “32 sticks of butter, 20 lbs of flour, and a partridge in a pear tree… PLUS a Giveaway!!!

  1. congratulations in making it to the Holiday Bake off!
    I like the White Chocolate chip Macadamia cookies. Since you will be making more of your prize-winning cookie, I hope I win so I can try them and not just imagine what they taste like. 😛

  2. Kirsten Kinegak-Friday on said:

    My favorite cookies are sugar cookies. They remind me of Christmas. 🙂

  3. Robyn Chaney on said:

    Woohoo! Chef it up Puff! You know I love my mom’s sugar cookies more than anything.

  4. Renee Culverhouse on said:

    Congratulations! It is hard to pick one favorite cookie, but if I had to pick one it would be Snickerdoodle!

  5. SNICKERDOODLES!!! Yummmmm!!!

  6. Every Christmas my mom makes sugar cookies and a shortbread cookie with almonts, mini chocolate chips and coffee. YUM!!! They are fantastic. Congratulations again on making the top 10. I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

